Pass the Brush

When I was in first year university, I was assigned a project to make a pop art painting of myself, or someone I knew. Upon completion of the project, I was quite happy with the result. Although there are a few imperfections with the copying, I think the painting turned out nice. I had a lot of fun making this pop art self portrait, and I was able to better my skills with grid transfers and detail painting. Below is a tutorial on how to make a pop art painting from start to finish.

Photoshop tutorial pop art

What you will need:

  • Four canvases that are the same size – I used flat canvases that I purchased in a pack from Michaels
  • Paint – Make sure you have white and black paint to create the variations in tone
  • Brushes
  • Pencil and eraser
  • Photo
  • Photoshop or Photoshop Elements

Photoshop Instructions:

  1. Open Photoshop or Photoshop Elements…

View original post 421 more words

Leave a Reply

